The race day altar of clothing

photo (3)

Look, I’m a girl who loves clothes and just because I’m running 13.1 (or more) miles, that is no excuse not to be cute and color coordinated. I’m also a woman who loves color, as you can see from the picture of my outfit for tonight’s race above. If it’s day glo, I’m going to wear it while I run. It makes me happy.

The picture above is also a prime example of my Runner’s OCD. I absolutely HAVE TO lay everything out before the race – everything top, bottoms, socks, shoes, bra, energy gels, ipod, etc.  My dining room table becomes my running altar for a night (or two, or three). If I’m traveling for a race, the first thing I do when I get to the hotel room is figure out where I can lay everything out.

It helps me feel organized and make sure I’m not forgetting anything. In fact, looking at the picture above I realized the tape for my feet wasn’t there. Can’t forget that!

My next race after tonight is the Tinkerbell 10k and 1/2 marathon on back-to-back days. Two outfits, twice the insanity. I can’t wait! Picking out what I’m going to wear on my runs is part of the  fun for me.

