Race brain is real

race brainThe day after a race I experience a phenomena I call race brain. I am slow and my frontal lobe feels numb.  In fact, I tried to write this post on Sunday, the day after the New Year’s Race, and it just didn’t happen.  I blame race brain.

My legs are rarely more than just slightly sore as if I had a really tough workout after a half marathon, yet my brain tends to take 24 hours to recover. I don’t know if it is the anticipation and adrenaline of the race atmosphere, the miles and hours spent alone in my head as I move forward toward 13.1, or simply that I seem to spend a good part of the race calculating exactly how long it will take to finish at my current rate of speed. That’s a lot of math.

Race Brain is a dazed feeling, an unfocused, slightly ditzy, can’t get much accomplished, flighty, forgetful, dazed and confused condition.

In fact, I’ve taken to scheduling a work from home or day off on the day after a race because it can be difficult to function. It seems to take me three to four times longer to do the same thing, process the same thought, complete the same task.

Race brain is like moving through the day in a fog. It’s not being a sharp as usual, and yet, it’s not a groggy, sleepy feeling. A nap won’t banish race brain. Only time will.

One comment