Challenging myself

1545011_10201195917039706_883535179_n

Tomorrow I start a 17-week program to train for the Orange County Marathon.

On January 25th I start a 6 month program to train for the hills of the San Francisco Marathon . I will be doing these concurrently.

Add in Bar Method and I pretty much expect to be in some state of pain for the next 6 months. We did 70 push ups in class yesterday, my biceps and upper back are tight as a drum today.

I’ve asked myself why I am attempting to run three marathons in 90 days and the answer simply seems to be: to see if I can.

It probably seems crazy to many runners, let alone non runners, but if you know me you know I like a challenge and the tougher the challenge the better.

I work a lot – in fact – I landed a new gig writing for YourDailyScoop.com this past week.   Writing has to be the main priority as, well, I like a roof over my head, electricity, DirecTV, and the ability to pay race entry fees.

Finding time is going to continue to be an issue. Add to that the fact that through the joys of Netflix I’ve discovered Friday Night Lights ( can we talk about Tim Riggins and Coach Taylor?!!!) and am binge watching it every night after I’m done writing and…

I’m going to have to be more disciplined and focused than ever before.

Here is this week’s training plan as laid out by the “Coach” function on the Nike+ app:

Monday: Run 4 miles

Tuesday: Run 6 miles

Wednesday: Run 5 miles

Thursday: Cross Train

Friday: Run 4 miles

Saturday: Sun 8 miles

Sunday: rest

That’s 27 miles on the week.

Here’s what my week looks like, adapting it for the Tinkerbell 10K and 1/2 marathon as well as the Bar Method January Challenge:

Monday: Bar Method class, 3 miles

Tuesday:  Bar Method class

Wednesday: Bar Method class, 3 miles

Thursday: Bar Method class, 2 miles

Friday: Bar Method class

Saturday: Tinkerbell 10K

Sunday: Tinkerbell 1/2 Marathon

Also 27 miles.

And, you know, I have to fit in WORK.

Just staying on track is going to be a challenge before I ever run my first step of my first full marathon.

