Running is expensive

moneyonfireSeriously y’all.  Do you ever find yourself wondering how much better your debt ratio and savings accounts would be if you weren’t a runner?

I remember in October totaling up my September, October, and November race related expenses and being flabbergasted at how much I spent. Oh and in that same time period I was pouring good money after bad into my old VW Jetta and eventually gave up and bought a new one. SMH.

Let’s break it down:

September:

Disneyland Dumbo Double Dare, exorbitant Disney entry fee, 2 nights hotel in Anaheim, the jacket and wine glass at expo, meals out, train ticket down and back, cab from and to Anaheim train station

October:

San Jose Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon, flight to and from San Jose, meals all weekend, hotel comped with travel points, no swag bought.

Long Beach 1/2 marathon, registration fee, jacket at expo, parking day of  expo and race

Los Angeles Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon, registration fee, jacket at expo, train to and from, lovely brunch at JW Marriot comped by dear friend who works there (Thanks Rod!)

November:

Santa Clarita 1/2 Marathon, registration fee, gas to/from Santa Clarita

Malibu 1/2 Marathon, bought a new car the night before, registration fee, gas to/from Malibu, parking fees.

Honestly y’all all of that was over $1000.(Include the car purchase and we’re looking at $17K!) Granted $340 of that was the Dumbo Double Dare reg, and another $250 was the two nights in Anaheim hotel.

This morning the 2014 Disneyland 1/2 Marathon/Dumbo Double Dare weekend opened for registration. As of 4pm, the 1/2 marathon is 97% sold out, the 10K is sold out, the Dumbo Double Dare is sold out, and the 5K is 92% sold out.  And the half was $195.

$195 right after Tinkerbell weekend. $195 right before my WDW Princess half marathon/Glass Slipper challenge week. Which is right before San Diego 1/2 marathon. I’m just happy that this weekend’s Surf City hotel is comped due to points, when I run in Vancouver, Utah and Oregon this year I am staying with friends and family; and my SF marathon partner (and one of my BFFs4EVA) booked a condo through he and his husband’s time share, so that should cut down on expenses a lot.

I am a freelance writer and while I don’t make as much money as I did when I was the Head of Content for a startup 1999-2007, I am clearly not doing as bad as my bank account balances would indicate. HA!

And this doesn’t even take into consideration shoes. One word people: NikeID. SMH. I can design my own Lunar Glides in the colors I want? Purple and pink and turquoise in one shoe? YES PLEASE.  Buh-Bye money.

purplelunarglides

So to all who think running is easy and inexpensive because you can lace up your shoes and head out the front door– think again. I’m a runner who stays motivated because a race looms in the near distance and who loves the atmosphere and energy of a race weekend/day, so  its unlikely my patterns will change anytime soon.  Clearly I just need to make more money, right?

7 comments

  • When I started running I thought it would be inexpensive. All you need is a good pair of shoes, right? 🙂

    • Me too! My preferred gym (Equinox) is $185 per month. I am not currently a member because of the cost. However, it is A LOT less than I spend on running per month if you average it out! LOL

      • Wow, that’s an expensive gym! I rationalize the running costs by telling myself that it’s worth it for my physical and mental health!

  • No kidding Andrea. 🙂 I just can’t convince myself to do a normal cheap gym– the gross factor creeps me out.So I run. And do bar method. And lift weights at home, and stalk Equinox’s “no initiation fee” specials until I can justify re-joining. 😉

  • I try not to dwell on the ridiculous amount of money I spend on running stuff and race fees! It is obscene what I probably spend and I want to protect myself from ever sitting down to tally it up!