It’s good to have a “thing”

women-running-beach-sunrise1If we’re lucky, most of us have a “thing”. That thing isn’t work, or family, or a significant other. Rather it is something that is JUST FOR YOU.

I was out on a date with Mike on Saturday, talking animatedly and excitedly over sushi and a never empty wine glass about my upcoming trip to Florida to run and my upcoming trips to several other places to run over the course of 2014. And he looked at me and smiled and said “It’s your thing.”

I was on the phone with my dear friend Shannon tonight, and she said the same thing.  For Shannon, her thing is singing. She has a gorgeous soprano voice and sings in her church. That’s her thing.

It’s important to have a thing of your own. If you don’t know what yours is yet, explore it. Check out things and activities and hobbies you’re interested in. Go out and look into something you’ve avoided. Maybe that’s your thing. I avoided running like the damn plague for my first 43 years of life. But it turns out running is my thing.

