My issue with the LA Marathon…

LA Marathon 2014 finisher medalSo, my original plan this year was to run the recent LA Marathon. And I didn’t. For a few valid reasons. The timing wasn’t right- -I ran so much in October, November, and December as well as had so much planned (ie Bought and paid for in January and February that I just didn’t have it in me to train the way I needed to for LA. I do plan to run it next year as my 3rd or 4th or 5th (If I get into New York Marathon. Please God don’t let me get into NYM. And if I do decide to do this year’s Honolulu marathon) marathon, once I have a feel for the distance.

But on March 9th, as several friends ran their first marathon and the temps creeped up into the high 80s, I was glad I didn’t choose this LA Marathon as my first ever marathon.

And then I figured out why.I KNOW how very very far it is from Dodger Stadium to Santa Monica. I’ve lived in Los Angeles for 27 years. I KNOW how fucking far that is. And that scares the crap out of me.

So I will run my very first marathon in San Francisco, a city I have a passing familiarity with but don’t have the total mind fuck about how FAR it is from the start to the finish like I do in my hometown.

