Brrrrrrr baby!

not my legs

not my legs

On Sunday after the Orange County Half Marathon, I was achier than I usually am after a run. Maybe it was the stop in the middle of the race, maybe it was the heat, maybe it was coming off the course and immediately getting onto a shuttle bus back to hotel and shortly thereafter getting in car for the hour long drive home.

Whatever it was, it concerned me. With the San Francisco marathon just 81 days away now, I have no time to lose. In fact, I’ve got a 16 mile training run on Saturday that is scaring the ever living crap out of me.

So I had to combat the achy and fast. I decided to try an ice bath. I went out and got 10lbs of ice, ran a not too cold, not warm bath about 1/3 full and dumped the ice in. Threw on my bikini bottoms and got in.

To be fair, it took me awhile to get my ass and legs into that COLD ice bath, but once I did– Holy Mother Of God–I never wanted to get out. It felt so damn good!

I had read that you should only sit in an ice bath for 6 to 8 minutes, so after 7 minutes I reluctantly got out of the tub.

And every ache was gone. And it stayed gone. I’m telling you, the ice bath is a damn miracle and I have a feeling I will be taking A LOT of them over the next 12 weeks.

 

One comment