Giving back and Mimosas in Malibu

girls_on_the_run_logoWhat a day! My alarm went off at 4am and after a moment of “wth why?!” I got up and got ready and left for Griffith Park to volunteer at the Girls on the Run Los Angeles spring 5k.

It was so much fun and the level of cute at the 5k was off the charts. All the little girls there to run 3.1 miles were so awesome and inspiring and I was so thrilled to be a part of it. I look forward to more work with Girls on the Run LA as their Los Angeles Ambassador.

 

20140518-193525-70525910.jpg

The event was at Griffith Park and once we broke down the entire shebang, I headed to Malibu for a dear friend’s birthday brunch. That was so much fun and I continue to feel so blessed by having my amazing extended group of friends.

We even saw a school of dolphins frolicking in the surf outside of the windows of Duke’s. That was insanely cool. Nature is so beautiful, you know?

20140518-193818-70698314.jpg

This week there is a lot of work to do, projects around the house (am prepping for a big living room redesign this summer), and of course hill training and running before next Saturday’s 18 mile run.

And a sure sign that I got up at 4am? I found my ice pack (we will further discuss my hamstring and glute issue tomorrow) and ice cream in the refrigerator, not freezer. Good times. Haha

But in all seriousness, this was an amazing weekend and I go to bed tonight happy, grateful, and content.

70 days until the San Francisco Marathon.

One comment

  • I’ve been involved with my local GOTR for a few years and always love the races! The excitement is amazing and it’s so great to see them accomplish their goals. It always reminds me of my first races and why I love running.