I have terror in my heart…

60 days… as my first marathon is just 60 days away.

It is really hitting me that not only am I actually going to do this, but that I actually CAN do this.

I always feel like I could train more, or train smarter, but the point is, I am training. Like a beast, actually.

In fact, before a long and awesome day of writing tomorrow, I will log an hour or so running up and down a very steep canyon road.

Because that is what I do on the morning of 59 days until I run 26.2 miles through the streets and hills of San Francisco.

In other randomness get thee to Trader Joe’s immediately. Chili Lime Chicken burgers. With a little very spicy salsa (I have a salsa dealer. Like drugs, his salsa is. He makes it so I can live without going into the delirium tremens. Withdrawal from this “ancient Mexican recipe” is not pretty, people.), some of Trader Joe’s olive tapenade, and a slice of provolone. It is roughly 500 calories of taste explosion. To make it healthier, next time I will omit the cheese (which I don’t eat much of anyway, being about 85% dairy free), and put the patty in a whole wheat tortilla.

Tomorrow is shaping up to be another crazy day of applying math to my day to figure out how to get everything done.

But first the hill run. 6am. At desk and writing by 730am. Stay focused. Wrap up work around 530p. Get seven articles written, a bunch of celeb bios, edit some scripts for an ad campaign, deal with a conference call with a potential new client. Just a typical day in the life of a very very wonderfully busy freelance writer. I am so grateful. So fucking grateful.

And now, some wine and a bite or three of dairy free chocolate-peanut butter ice cream.

Also, RIP Maya Angelou.

If you’re always trying to be normal, you’ll never know how amazing you can be.” Godspeed Ms. Angelou. And thank you.

7 comments