you know you’re (nearly) a marathon runner when…

roadrunnerSaturday night I found myself meeting a friend for a drink after his baseball game. It was me and a bunch of 30 and 40 something year old guys. They lost. They also chattered incessantly about how much they ran during that game and how much their legs were going to hurt tomorrow.

After a 7 inning game. That didn’t last as long as my run that morning had. Nor is baseball an “in constant motion” sport like soccer, hockey, tennis, or running.

Refusing to feel sorry for them considering I’d run those 9.27 miles that very morning in some ridiculous heat and full on melting under the strength of the sunshine, I could not help but point out that they should not hurt. After all, I’d run 20 miles just a few weeks ago and had no soreness afterwards at all.

“Maybe you all should add some long runs into your team practices,” I said, taking a sip of my wine. ūüėČ

It was just a  crystallizing moment when I realized that (many) runners are in much better shape in general than other casual hobbyist athletes.

Or we are just not whiners. We are focused on our goals and go the distance. And it hurts. Damint running is not comfortable. But we don’t complain because we love to run.

34 days until the San Francisco Marathon.

2 comments