20 days! Taper WHAT?

2020 days until the San Francisco Marathon?! WHAT? How is this possible?! I am excited AND nervous.

This coming weekend I’m off to Oregon for the Fueled By Fine Wine 1/2 Marathon with my running partner in crime and dear friend Sigrid. It should be a challenging (re: hilly) race that will test my training and mettle. It winds through vineyards in the Oregon wine country and ends at a wine tasting festival, which is just up my wine loving heart’s alley.

So now, theoretically, I’m in taper right? Tell that to my legs – as they plan to run 29 miles this week. Taper WHAT?

Now, now, before you say anything let me explain! ūüôā

I was supposed to do an 8 mile run this weekend. Well 4th of July plans and sleeping through several alarms ruled out that run happening early Saturday (when I was still down in southern Orange County) or Sunday (when I needed sleep apparently) before the heat set in.

So I figured I’d do today. My body, specifically its stupid monthly cycle, had other ideas. There was no sleep, there was only pain.

So TUESDAY it is! 8 miles of hills! Then hill work with Audrey on Wed and Thurs! (4 Miles each day). Then rest Friday and Saturday and run a 1/2 marathon on Sunday. For the record, my miles this weekend are supposed to be 11.

After Sunday, which is 2 weeks out, I promise I will ACTUALLY taper. Just 2-3 four mile hill runs a week. ūüėČ

One comment

  • Eeeek!!!! 20 days!!! You’re fabulous!! I’m seriously very excited for you!! I can’t wait to hear about your marathon!!! So exciting!! XOXO!!