Three-peat in the house of the Mouse

the race that started it all!

the race that started it all!

This weekend marks an anniversary and a first. It is the anniversary of my first half marathon- the 2012 Disneyland 1/2 marathon–and the first time I have run a race for the third time. I made the 3-hour, 28 mile drive to Anaheim (sometimes I do HATE L.A.) after work last night to take care of my expo needs (and have dinner with my Sigi)  so that I could get my weekend on before going back down to Anaheim on Saturday to check into the room with Sigrid. Many friends are running Disneyland this weekend and with Jennifer, Laurie,  Kat, Destany, Heather, etc it will be the good time it always is. I do love my Disney runs.

But before I lace up my running shoes on my injured feet, I’ve got football and more football to partake in. It is the most wonderful time of the year! Football season! My High School is ranked #1 in the COUNTRY and is playing locally-ish (Orange County) tonight, so I’m off to watch my Bishop Gorman Gaels kick some butt. Then USC kicks off tomorrow vs. Fresno State. I’m not going to the game, as I’ll be down in Anaheim prepping for Sunday’s early morning half, but I will find someplace to watch the game while wearing the Cardinal and Gold!

Because I am working with a left foot with subperiosteal hematoma (and resisting the urge to show you all a picture of it– so many different colors in my heel right now! HA!), I’m going to take it easy and employ my hated (I am not a patient person) shorter intervals to get through the race without causing further damage to my foot.  I will also be bandaged, taped, and wearing my new, favorite, padded heel Lululemon socks. Hopefully this will work and I won’t limp across finish line more injured than I started. My foot does not HURT, which makes it hard to convince myself to take it easy, despite it being one long run away from a stress fracture, you know?

Oh well, go big or go home, right?

I’ll be back after the Disneyland half with all the news and shenanigans of the weekend. Have a great long Labor Day weekend everyone!

One comment