A wrap party, a Pair of Races, and a Birthday 

well hello! It has been busy in these parts to say the least and I’m epically exhausted. I did not take a break post LA Marathon. Instead I’m running with the awesome So Cal Coyotes to train for this year’s San Francisco marathon. I’m very excited. 

In the past few weeks I’ve had the Team NutriBullet wrap party, the Hollywood Half Marathon, my Birthday, and the inaugural Sunset Strip Half Marathon.  It has been a whirlwind. Tons of fun but no time to catch my breath. So, that said I’ll leave you with photos. 

First, the amazing and crazy fun Team NutriBullet wrap party. Being a part of this team was one of the most wonderful experiences of my life. My teammates are the most amazing and inspriring people I’ve ever met. I consider myself honored and lucky to train alongside them and call them friends.  I cannot wait for next year and hope I am lucky enough to be chosen for this team for a second year.   

Second the Hollywood half marathon. My third year in a row running this. Jennifer came in town for my birthday weekend and to run this with me. A bunch of my Team NutriBullet friends also ran and everywhere I was on the course I saw people I know and love. This was also my birthday race since it took place on the day before my 46th birthday. I was wished a happy birthday in every mile of that race. So fun. It was also Jason’s very first half Marathon and he smoked it (and me). I’m so proud of my friend and loved running into him on the course.   

Third, my birthday weekend marched on. Jason R, Bob, and Suzanne were also in town. On Saturday night Jen and I and the aforementioned friends plus Original Flavor Robin (not to be confused with Cool Ranch Robin) went to see a bunch of metal tribute bands at the House of Blues. We were the guest of the Guns n Roses band and they wished me a happy birthday from the stage. (Thanks Bob!). The other bands were tributes to Judas Priest, Metallica, Rob Zombie, and Stone Temple Pilots. 

Then on Sunday, my actual birthday, we did brunch for 23 at a local restaurant. It was a perfect way to ring in 46. I had my core friend group there, some college friends, some running friends, and some work friends. It was so much fun!!   

And finally today I ran the inaugural Sunset Strip half marathon with my Team NutriBullet friends Corazon and Cynthia and also saw a bunch of friends out on the course. It was great to be able to walk to the start line from home and I look forward to running this again next year.   

In between some of these I began to fall in love with trail running while running the Backbone Trail with the Coyotes. I’m learning how to HOWL as we ‘Yotes say. 😉

Unless I randomly pick up a race, today was my last half Marathon before the San Francisco marathon at the end of July. Time to focus on running and strength training and eating right while also having fun because as Coach Jimmy says: “if you’re not having fun you’re doing something wrong.” 

