Hey there…I’m back, literally

image

Scenes from Christmas vacation

So howdy there. It has been awhile. Of course there is a good excuse–or rather, a bad one– an Achilles injury that has had me sidelined since October.

Insertional Achilles Tendonosis (not tendonitis).

Let me tell you, try not to have this happen to you. I’ve been confined to the elliptical for months. I long for a good long run. Fortunately, I’m in week 12 of 12 of the recommended “take it easy” period.

Obviously, I’m out of the LA Marathon this year, which is a bummer. It is a month earlier to accommodate the U.S. Olympic trials and there is no way I can get ready to run 26.2 miles in 6 weeks. Not after not running for three months, at least. So instead I will be volunteering at the Olympic trials.

I’m going to start running again this week and training again in a week or two. Next up is So Cal Ragnar, the Sunset Strip half marathon, and the Hollywood half marathon. That’s a back to back weekend extravaganza. Ragnar on Friday and Saturday, Sunset Strip on Sunday, Hollywood the following weekend.

I’m  planning to start running with my original running group, Alpha Running, to train for that trio of races and the 2016 San Francisco Marathon. And then later in the summer the SeaWheeze half in Vancouver for the 3rd year in a row and America’s Finest half marathon in San Diego. I’m also considering a fall marathon. I’ll probably enter the lotteries for Chicago and New York and if those don’t happen, run the California International Marathon in December.

The Los Angeles Marathon will be there for me in 2017. Or I will be there for it. Whatever.

It has been a long, rough, frustrating road to recovery. But I’m back and I cannot wait to get out and run on Friday!!!!

Happy New Year!

